Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HELM Public: About

Who We Are

HELM (Higher Education Libraries of Massachusetts) is a growing consortium of Massachusetts public higher education libraries that share an integrated library system, allow direct borrowing of materials, and collaborate on professional development opportunities. HELM was formed to develop and sustain cooperative initiatives and to enhance library resources, systems and services for all member libraries.

Mission/Vision

  • Keep Academic Users' needs paramount
  • Maintain the Integrated Library System (ILS) and develop a resource sharing network
  • Develop other cooperative initiatives in purchasing resources and in staff professional development.
  • Strategically expand membership as appropriate
  • Integrate assessment into future planning

History

In 2017, the Chief Library Officers of seven Massachusetts Public Institutions of Higher Education (Holyoke Community College, Mass Bay Community College, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts, Middlesex Community College, North Shore Community College, Quinsigamond Community College and Roxbury Community College) collaborated in developing a consortium more closely aligned with the needs of academic libraries. 

During the 2017/2018 academic year, these libraries, with the assistance of the Fenway Library Organization, worked feverishly to negotiate exits from their existing networks.  Policies and procedures were established, installation of the open-source Koha integrated library system was completed, and migration from existing systems took place. The newly developed HELM catalog went live on July 1, 2018.

 

HELM Board of Directors

HELM Board of Directors - Members

Berkshire Community College
Richard Felver
Director of the Library
1350 West Street
Pittsfield, MA 01201
413-236-2151
Email: rfelver@berkshirecc.edu

Bristol Community College
Robert Rezendes
Dean of Taunton Center
2 Galleria Mall Drive
Taunton, MA 02780
774-357-3457
Email: Robert.Rezendes@bristolcc.edu

Holyoke Community College
Mary Dixey
Dean of Library Services
303 Homestead Avenue
Holyoke, MA 01040
413-552-2260
Email: mdixey@hcc.edu

Massachusetts Bay Community College
Timothy Rivard
Director of Learning Resources
Perkins Library 50 Oakland Street
Wellesley Hills, MA 02481
781-239-2631
Email: trivard@massbay.edu

Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts
Emily Alling
Associate Dean of Library Services
375 Church Street
North Adams, MA 01247
413-662-5322
Email: Emily.Alling@mcla.edu

Massasoit Community College
Vincent Livoti  
Director of Libraries
Massasoit Community College Library
1 Massasoit Blvd
Brockton, MA 02302-3996
508-588-9100 x1941 (Main number, Brockton Location)
Email: vlivoti@massasoit.mass.edu

Middlesex Community College
Donna Maturi
Asst. Dean of Academic Resources and Technologies
591 Springs Road
Bedford, MA 01730 - 1197
978-656-3001
maturid@middlesex.mass.edu

North Shore Community College
Rex Krajewski
Director of Libraries
1 Ferncroft Road
Danvers, MA 01923
978-739-5524
Email: rkrajews@northshore.edu

Northern Essex Community College
Mike Hearn
Assistant Dean
100 Elliot Street
Haverhill, MA 01830
978-556-3423
Email: mhearn@necc.mass.edu

Quinsigamond Community College
Cary Morse
Interim Dean for Library and Academic Support Services
670 West Boylston Street
Worcester, MA 01606
508-854-7472
Email: csmorse@qcc.mass.edu

Roxbury Community College
William Hoag
Library Director
1234 Columbus Avenue
Boston, MA 01120
857-701-1386
Email: whoag@rcc.mass.edu

Springfield Technical Community College
Erica Eynouf
Dean of Library Services
PO Box 9000, One Armory Square
Springfield, MA 01101 - 9000
413-755-4064
Email: eweynouf@stcc.edu